gondaily
gondaily gon 1w ago 100%

Tax and Government

Ultimately, I've been concerned with politics more and more. Probably because I'm investing and I'll have to worry about paying taxes.

Where I am, capital gains tax is relatively high, though under 30%. Now, I don't mind this. Personally, I love the idea of contributing to the national infrastructure, and have absolutely no qualms about cutting my gains for this. Now, it does hurt, don't get me wrong, but I get it and don't particularly mind it.

I'm watching a video about the national budget, and while I don't like everything I'm hearing, I don't think it's too bad. I'm happy to see the government really isn't just a bunch of incompetence.

Now, about Vietnam. Wild pivot, I know.

I've been watching too many videos about Vietnam, the food, and specifically Hoi An. Holy crap that place is gorgeous. This is where frustration really kicks in... I live in such a cheap place to live. My country is fantastic and I could definitely retire here without worries. As a matter of fact, it's one of the top destinations world wide for retirees! Oh but Hoi An...

There's this girl called Mai Pham on the red app. She's Vietnamese and filmed some vlogs in Vietnam a while back. I fell in love with the country without ever stepping foot in it! I remember a few years back when I was enamoured with Bhutan, but then learned more and more about the country and started throwing up in my mouth, or when I thought London was peak-living (hopefully no need to explain why I change my mind on this one), or rural China, or northern Scotland (this one I'm still big on, actually). Vietnam is in the honeymoon phase, right now. The big difference between Vietnam and all those other places is the why of my interest. It's price, of course. Vietnam is cheap as FUCK! Retiring there would be a piece of cake... If not for the lack of Visa! Damn it, Vietnam!

Though of course... Marriage. I could get married to a Viet girl and move there no problem. Doable? Probably not, not for me anyway, I'm very aroace, but fuck it man I want to go there. A big issue with this kind of stuff is that, if I want to visit Vietnam, I have to pay to go there. Obviously, I need to visit before actually making a decision. I could easily stay there for three months, no problem, but staying longer is fucked.

I'm making plans for 27 years in the future over here, Vietnam, help me out!

1
1
Comments 1