3dprinting
3DPrinting Gorroth 1y ago 100%

Need help setting up my filament runout sensor on my Voxelab Aquila running Alex firmware

Need help setting up my filament runout sensor on my Voxelab Aquila running Alex firmware

As title says. I got myself a filament runout sensor, wired it, designed and printed a holder for it and now I am experiencing some issues. I hope someone here can help me.

At first, the sensor is doing its job and seems to be working as it should. Printing is possible, but only with extra steps I would like to avoid. I use this sensor:

Creality Offiziell Filament Runout Sensor Kit Ender 3 Filament Erkennung Modul Detektor Gerät Original Pausen Erkennungs Monitor für Ender 3Pro, Ender 3 V2 mit 32 Bit V4.2.2/V4.2.7 Motherboard https://amzn.eu/d/3aR6o2e

I am using it on my standard Voxelab Aquila running Alex firmware. Slicing in Astroprint and managing over Octoprint on a raspberry pi.

The problem: The runout sensor sends a false positive right after starting a print. It draws the first line on the printbeds side and then stops telling me the filament ran out. It then proceeds to unload the filament and asks me to change it. I then re-insert the „new“ filament, it extrudes a load and then prints just fine.

So as you have possibly guessed right, I want it to print right away, just stopping the print, if there really is some jamming or no more filament left. Does someone know if I have to adjust the start commands or something like that? It seems to be a software problem.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Update: I gave up on this project and sent the sensor back. I couldn’t get it to work even after modifications to the firmware. Too bad…

26
6
Comments 6